Police / Public Safety

The Littleton Police Department serves the incorporated town limits. This area is approximately a square mile around the traffic light at Mosby Avenue & US Hwy 158. If you are outside this area please contact your county sheriff’s department. The Halifax non-emergency phone number is 252-583-2368

Police Department Contact: 252-586-3413

Chief Phillip Trivette

Sergeant Donald Duke

Patrol/Investigator Steven Whitfield

Officer Carlton Tripp 

Officer Mark Oakley

From Left to right is Officer Mark Oakley, Sergeant Donald Duke, Chief Phillip Trivette, Detective Steven Whitfield, and Officer Ray Tripp.

This is not an emergency number. If you have an emergency, please dial 911.

Littleton Volunteer Fire Department: 252-586-4513
Halifax County Emergency Services: 252-583-1991
Halifax County Animal Control: 252-583-6651
Halifax County Sheriff’s Department: 252-583-8201
Warren County Sheriff’s Department: 252-257-3364



The Street Department is responsible for the maintenance of town owned streets. This includes surfacing and resurfacing, roadside drainage, street signs, pavement markings, street sweeping, snow removal, leaf and yard debris removal, and maintenance of sidewalks.

Several streets within town limits remain the responsibility of the State of North Carolina:

Spring Street from Highway 903 to Shaw Street
Mosby Avenue
Ferguson Street from Highway 158 to Halifax Street
Halifax Street from Ferguson Street to Bacon Road
Church Street from Highway 158 to Shaw Street
Shaw Street from Church Street to Spring Street

Questions may be directed to the Street Commissioner.
For state roads contact NCDOT:


The town sells plots at the Sunset Hill Cemetery in Littleton. Plot maps are available for viewing in the Town Clerk’s office during regular business hours. Please visit the Forms page for rates and more information.

Questions may be directed to the Cemetery Commissioner.

Water / Sewer

The Water/Sewer Department is responsible for ensuring that an adequate and safe supply of drinking water is available and that the wastewater system is properly maintained. They are also in charge of construction and maintenance of water/wastewater mains and pipes, meters, manholes and hydrants.

The service area is inside the town’s incorporated limits, and a small area outside of town. Water is purchased from Halifax County for redistribution.  The Town of Littleton owns and operates its Wastewater Treatment Plant.

For billing questions contact: Clerk’s Office  252-586-2709
For other questions contact: WWTP Superintendent  252-586-3456


Zoning is the regulation of land use, building size, height and setbacks. Zoning is intended to promote an orderly pattern of development and to separate land uses that are incompatible, such as industrial uses and homes.

Every parcel of land within the town’s zoning jurisdiction has a zoning designation. The designation specifies how a piece of property can be used. The jurisdiction includes the town limits, plus an area about 1 mile outside of town known as the Extraterritorial Jurisdiction (ETJ). Our current zoning map can be viewed here.

Any new construction, addition, or renovation requires a building permit to be issued through Halifax County. In many cases, the work first needs to be approved by the town zoning administrator to ensure that the proposed work complies with our ordinances. New businesses also need zoning approval prior to opening. More information can be found on the Frequently Asked Questions page.

For all zoning requests or questions contact: Clerk’s Office  252-586-2709.

Planning Board

The Planning Board is appointed by the Board of Commissioners (with the exception of the ETJ representatives) and its members serve three-year staggered terms. The Planning Board is an advisory body to the governing body and deals with land use, zoning and development issues. They meet as needed.

Current members:

Megan Chambers, Chairman
Kevin King
Fred Weber
Al Cooke, Jr.
Richard Brown – Halifax County
John Skinner – Warren County

Board of Adjustment

The Board of Adjustment is appointed by the Board of Commissioners (with the exception of the ETJ representatives) and its members serve three-year staggered terms. Their role is to hear appeals from decisions of the zoning administrator and to consider requests for variances from the terms of the zoning ordinance. They meet as needed.

Current members:

James Skilton, Chairman
Kevin King
Fred Weber
Al Cooke, Jr.
Richard Brown -Halifax County
James Skilton  – Warren County

Library Board

The W.C. “Billy” Jones, Jr. Memorial Library.

Branch Manager: Kim Gray 252-586-3608

Economic Development

Halifax County Economic Development website

Comments are closed.